Even Apple didn’t want my iPhone 6 Plus

I bought a really expensive phone last week. Then I got rid of it.plutus91503

After the big Apple announcement, I internally debated the merits of a mobile phone that would instantly connect me to a lifetime’s worth of entertainment and knowledge, and a slightly larger version of the same thing. I chose the big one. Like so many bad decisions, I made this one at 3AM in my underpants.

On Friday evening, the colossus arrived. Removed from its slim, minimalistic cardboard home, the iPhone 6 Plus’s size intimidated me. I couldn’t decide how to hold the thing, so I cradled its bottom in my right hand and its top in my left, like a vulnerable cranium.

“This is huge!” said my wife, snatching the phone. She held the slab to her cheek, as if to make a call, and half her head disappeared behind a wall of space gray. It looked like she’d stolen a prop phone from the set of a 1980s sci-fi movie.

MAKING EXCUSES IS A BAD SIGN IN A NEW RELATIONSHIP

After a minute, bored and distracted by her oldiPhone 5, she tossed the Plus back to me and I caught it like a kitten that’d fallen from a tree, immediately checking every inch for damage. I found no signs of injury to my new phone, and I exhaled.

Throughout the evening, I bounced without warning between two heightened emotional planes:

On one plane, I obsessed over how best not to drop the phone.

Protecting the iPhone 6 Plus from my clumsiness wasn’t a passive activity. Whenever I stretched a thumb to reach a far corner of the screen, the colossal phone would tilt, threatening to drop onto our apartment’s wooden floor. Using the phone and preserving the phone were one and the same.

CopyrightHere

Leave a Reply

